Recovery 5 mile run

Time: 9.00am
Route: Paisley Canal
Distance: 5miles
Time Run: 36mins 00secs (average pace 7:10)

We have a joint church outreach meeting in Paisley County Square today so I couldn’t fit in a game of golf this morning. So I decided to go for a run instead. I was really pleased how easy it felt after yesterday’s 16mile run. So this week I’ve run 56miles. I will have another big week next week including our 43mile run on the whw next Saturday.

The whw race is now 13 weeks away. As I was running I was thinking through my countdown and what I’ve got planned running wise ….

12 weeks to go: Sat 29 Mar – 43mile training run (Tyndrum to Fort William)
11 weeks to go: Sat 5 Apr – easy week (30miles)
10 weeks to go: Sat 12 Apr – steady week (50miles) including Kilbarchan club 7mile handicap race on Sun 13 Apr
9 weeks to go: Sat 19 Apr – steady week (40-45miles)
8 weeks to go: Sat 26 Apr – The Highland Fling (53mile race – Milngavie to Tyndrum)
7 weeks to go: Sat 3 May – easy week (25miles)
6 weeks to go: Sat 10 May – easy week (including a Troon 10k race on Wed 7 May)
Sat
5 weeks to go: Sat 17 May – 2day 75mile run (Fri 16 May – Balmaha to Bridge of Orchy, Sat 17 May – Bridge of Orchy to Fort William)
4 weeks to go: Sat 24 May – Kirkcudbright Half Marathon
3 weeks to go: Sat 31 May – recovery week
2 weeks to go: Sat 7 Jun – easy week
1 week to go: Sat 14 Jun – tempering week

My big wish this year is that I keep fit right up to the race. Last year I picked up an injury in my shin after the Highland Fling due mainly to my own stupidity in not having a recovery/easy week after the race. I have learnt my lesson and plan to build in some easy weeks after my hard weeks. I’m really looking forward to the next 13 weeks and feel things are going well for my target of a sub 22hr whw race.

Everton play West Ham in the 5.15pm game. I will be able to watch it so I’m looking forward to that. Prediction: 2-1 to Everton to keep up the pressure on Liverpool (who by the way will lost at United tomorrow).

This entry was posted in Countdown to the whw race, Everton prediction, Paisley Canal run. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Recovery 5 mile run

  1. Thomas says:

    I’m not convinced that running a 10k just 11 days after the Highland Fling is a good idea.Apart from that I’m surprised you run so fast on your training runs. Didn’t some other Thomas comment on that a few weeks ago, and you assured him you would slow down after your next race?But don’t take my word for it. You’re a better ultra runner than I am.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s